HUNTERS ECB Yorkshire Premier League North 
Several clubs have had success in two of the main National Competitions either as members of the York & District Senior Cricket League or as members of the Yorkshire County League. 
ECB National Club Championship 
In 1969 a national Club Knock-Out competition was established, sponsored by The Cricketer Magazine. The Clubs were to play for the Derrick Robins Trophy and the final was to be played at Edgbaston. Several players with ties to clubs in the league played in the first final, at Edgbaston, for Pocklington Pixies, a team drawn from past pupils at Pocklington School. They included Alasdair Swann and Colin Johnson (Woodhouse Grange), Malcolm Milne (Beverley and Londesborough Park) and Paul Jackson (Pocklington and York). 
Scarborough are the most successful club in the competition with wins in 1972, 1976, 1979, 1981 and 1982. 
York have also won the competition, doing so in 1975 and more recently in 2012. 
Harrogate reached the final in 1977 but were beaten by Southgate from Middlesex. 
National Village Cup 
The Cricketer Magazine also founded a competition, which they still run today, for clubs at the grassroots level of the game where even the smallest village team can ‘live the dream’ and play on the hallowed Lords turf. At its height, the competition had almost 800 entries from all parts of England, Scotland and Wales. Entry was restricted, as the name suggests, to 'Village Clubs' and rules were laid down as to what constituted a village, adding that it should be a ‘rural community surrounded on all sides by open countryside.’ 
Several of our clubs have had the honour and privilege of reaching a Lords Final. Sessay were one of the early finalists, losing in 1976 before ending a long wait by winning the trophy in 2010. Woodhouse Grange are the competition's most successful club having reached seven finals, lifting the trophy on four occasions. 
Woodhouse Grange 
Winners: 1995, 2007, 2014, 2015 
Runners-Up: 1999, 2008, 2012 
Winners: 2010, 2016 
Runners-Up: 1976, 2017 
Sheriff Hutton Bridge 
Winners: 2005 
Folkton & Flixton 
Winners: 2018 
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings