HUNTERS ECB Yorkshire Premier League North 
Y&DSCL Hall of Fame entrants - 2016 
Kevin Ambrosen 
Osbaldwick, Clifton Alliance 
Kevin first appeared in the League in 1973 when he claimed 31 wickets at an average 7.00 for Osbaldwick. His best ever return is 8-36 v Stillington in 1975. In 1976 he moved to Clifton Alliance where he had a significant career as a pace bowler until he retired at the end of 2001. He claimed a total of 1,113 wickets at an average of 16.01 with a run rate of 2.70 rpo. As well as his playing prowess, Kevin has also served both his club, League and Joe Lumb cricket for lengthy periods of time. He was club secretary for 10 years and a further 8 years as assistant secretary. He has been a club coach since 1993 and also worked for many years as groundsman. He served for 15 years on the League Committee, including 12 years as Dinner Secretary. He has been a committee member and coach for the York Joe Lumb team. 
Russell Bilton 
Woodhouse Grange 
Russell has been a one club man for Woodhouse Grange since starting out in 1973. He has scored over 6,000 runs and taken over 1,000 wickets with best bowling figures of 8-39 against Sheriff Hutton Bridge in 1978 and a highest score of 91. He best season was 1996 when he took 56 wickets at an average of 11.54 and led the averages. He played a key role in the club's first two National Village Knockout trips to Lords in 1995 and 1999. He has also worked tirelessly for the club in many ways including Bar Chairman and Head Groundsman. 
Paul Horner 
Wilberfoss, Rowntrees 
Paul is included In recognition of his playing excellence with Wilberfoss and Rowntrees. In total he scored almost 10,000 runs at an average just below 30 and took over 1,000 wickets at an average just above 17. His best seasons were 2013 when he scored 771 runs at an average of 77.1 in Division 7 and 1996 when he took 86 wickets at an average of 14.59 in Division 3, both for Rowntrees. 
Henry Houseman 
Bolton Percy 
Henry is included in recognition of over 55 years as a player and active member of Bolton Percy. In total he scored almost 5,000 runs at an average of 23.06 and took over 800 wickets at an average of 14.90. His best seasons were 1984 when he scored 475 runs at an average of 31.66 and 1974 when he took 63 wickets at an average of 9.73. He served as Club President for many years. 
Colin Humpleby 
Duncombe Park 
Colin is included in recognition of his 28 years as Secretary and lengthy period as a player at Duncombe Park Cricket Club. In total he scored almost 4,00 runs at an average of 22.61 and took just shy of 600 wickets at an average of 18.39. His best seasons were 1998 when he scored 528 runs at an average of 40.62 and 2007 when he took 47 wickets at an average of 18.40. 
Tony Lyons 
Magnets, Tadcaster 
Tony is recognised as a player, umpire and active member of Magnets and subsequently Tadcaster for over 56 years, and also as a League Panel Umpire for 12 years. His playing days were for Magnets, for whom he scored over 10,000 runs at an a average just over 20 with four centuries. His highest score was 120 no against Tadcaster in 1978. He also kept wicket for most of his career but very few details are available. 
Andy Main 
Andy is included in recognition of his lengthy service with Rowntrees Cricket Club. His best run scoring season was 1999 when he scored 566 at an average of 40.43 in Division 5 and his best bowling season was 1984 when he took 28 wickets at 13.75, His highest score was 134 no and his best bowling 8-28. 
Raymond Midgley 
Stillington, Sheriff Hutton Bridge, Huby, Easingwold 
Raymond is included In recognition of his playing record, his captaincy of the League XI, and his long service to Stillington Cricket Club. His best season was 1984 when he scored 585 runs at an average of 30.79. He achieved a century on 2 occasions, scoring 102no v Northallerton in 1969 and 104 no against Cawood in 1978. In total, he scored 8,010 runs at average of 21.83. 
Paul Miles 
Heworth, Woodhouse Grange, Dunnington 
Paul had two spells at Heworth between the early 80s and 1995 with a two year spell at Woodhouse Grange in 1987, when he was a member of the side which won five major trophies including the League and Cup double, and 1988. He then made the move to Dunnington in 1996 where he became one of the best wicket keeper / batsmen the league has seen. He was the leading wicket keeper in the top division, winning the Brian Shirley Trophy on three occasions and finished with over 620 victims, over one third of whom were stumped. As an aggressive middle order batsman he scored over 5,000 runs at an average just below 30 with four centuries and a season’s best of 526 runs at an average of 37.57 in 2011. His highest score of 147 came against Easingwold in 2004. He won the League's Knockout Cup seven times and the top division four times with Dunnington and once with Heworth to go along with his success at Woodhouse Grange. 
Martyn Piercy 
Sheriff Hutton Bridge, Easingwold 
Martyn started his cricket career at Sheriff Hutton Bridge where he captained the U16 side. He moved into their adult sides and qualified for three seasons in the League’s batting averages and also had his best season as a bowler when his 24 wickets at 24.00 was to be his only bowling qualification. He had six successful seasons with York in the Yorkshire League and in 1999 returned to the York League with Easingwold. That began a period of 17 season which saw him make 10,224 runs in the Premier Division at an average of 36.12. He made eight Premier Division centuries (three in 2015) with a top score of 138 v Clifton Alliance in 2013. His best aggregate was 909 in 2014. He captained Easingwold to two top division titles in 2004 and 2006 and played a number of games for the League’s representative side. Sadly he suffered severe injuries from an accident at work in 2015 which ended his cricketing career prematurely. 
Hazel Rickaby 
Hazel is recognized as a stalwart of Selby and in recognition of her extensive service to them as secretary, scorer and tea lady. 
David Simpson 
Heworth, Dunnington, York 
David was one of the leading batsmen of his era. He scored 18,221 runs at an average of 38.12 until a serious injury brought about a premature end to his career. He made a total of 23 centuries with a best of 142 against Harrogate in 2013. He was leading run scorer on four occasions with a best return of 988 at an average of 61.75 in 2010. He won the Des Wyrill batting award in 1990.  
Pamela Woodcock 
In recognition of her long service as Secretary of Driffield Town. John Drury, who was Chairman at Driffield when Pam Woodcock took over as secretary, was keen to pay tribute to his long-time colleague. 
He said...... 
"I'd especially like to express my thanks to Pam for all the work she has done for the club while I've been chairman." 
"I'm sure that without her, the club would not have expanded to the extent that it has. 
"She has spent hundreds of hours to ensure everything runs smoothly. 
"The hundreds of young people who have enjoyed cricket at Driffield over the years have much to thank her for." 
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings